6 word Saturday

I don’t know what to write

about the passing of the heroic figure of Nelson Mandela.  What I wil most remember of him is his infectious smile, ever-present despite his years of suffering.   I pray that his insistence on reconciliation will continue to bear fruit.

*

We have Joyeux Noel in mirror writing strung across the kitchen window, because I wanted it to show outside.

*

Jock has just finished his embroidered portrait of our Dutch friend Wiebe – Jock thinks he has aged him by 10 years, and is thinking of destroying it after 2 months of work.  They are the same age!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 6 word Saturday

  1. It would be shame if the beliefs and hopes of Mandela died with him.

    You tell Jock, he cannot destroy such a stunning piece of art.

    Like

  2. rosross says:

    As someone who spends a great deal of time in South Africa and has done for decades the decline is already evident and Mandela’s death is most likely to remove the last shred of caution from the politicians. The crazy talk will get crazier and may turn into actions. I hope not but Mandela’s presence did make a different. Of course he had to go and it was time but South Africa is at a critical crossroads.

    Like

  3. rosross says:

    So talented. Just sell it.

    Like

  4. Eha says:

    About Tata Madiba a dear Afrikaner blogfriend just titled her post:
    ‘The Magic will live on’ ~ I concur . . .

    Like

  5. Pseu says:

    The portrait of Wiebe is amazing: What does Wiebe think? x

    Like

  6. Judy says:

    Love the embroidery! Don’t put a needle in my hand.

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    A very distinguished-looking gentleman! He reminds me of a friend.
    You’ve gathered I don’t mean Mandela. For him, I’m just happy that there’s peace at last. For his country- who knows! 🙂

    Like

  8. Mlissabeth says:

    I pray with you that Mandela’s ideas come to fruition.

    It would be a real shame if Jock destroyed the portrait. I hope he will at least let Wiebe decide if he likes it.

    Like

  9. Tonya Jastad says:

    Wow! Both you and Jock are very talented.

    Like

  10. Ron. says:

    If I attempted to embroider anyone’s portrait, I’m sure it would end up looking like embroidery thread still on spools. I’d consider it a major victory if it even resembled anything human.

    Like

  11. Please don’t let Jock destroy this work of art. Its fantastically realistic. What a talent

    Like

  12. colonialist says:

    That is a striking portrait, and it would be a criminal act to destroy it.
    If he doesn’t think it does Wiebe justice, then name it Johan Smit!

    Like

  13. This is a work of art. I’m astounded at Jock’s ability and insight to do this. Joyeux Noel, inside and out, ah, warms the heart.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

