Off prompt gift

Knitting against time
gifts for friends and family
woolly scarves and hats,

marzipan stuffed dates
in pretty scarlet boxes
for our new neighbours.

 

We Write Poems have a new prompter, Tawnya Smith, whose prompt is lovely and I’ve saved it for when I’m feeling more poetic.  These two senryu have only a nodding connection to her prompt – a Holiday Collage.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in haiku and senryu, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Off prompt gift

  1. LOVE the image of frantic knitting!

    Like

  2. I hear you on how busy this time of year can be. I like how your two stanzas each highlight a small detail from the whole holiday: sometimes it’s the small sparkles that give the greatest light.

    -Nicole

    Like

  3. thehutts says:

    Please save some dates for us! Sally

    Like

  4. Yousei Hime says:

    I love them both. You kept the heart of the prompt, which is the best part.

    Like

  5. busy lady, busy time of year.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

