Timelessness

A calendar can make time stand still.
I kept the apple blossom from May
for months and then  it was
impossible to turn over the kingfisher
which gladdens September.

for dVerse Poetics

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in short poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Timelessness

  1. kkkkaty1 says:

    I always look to see what my birth months has as a photo..usually the daffodil…I’ll take apple blossoms all year long…”turning the pages of the calendar” is a smart phrase here..

    Like

  2. hypercryptical says:

    Lovely – I can understand the apple blossom.
    Anna :o]

    Like

  3. Something is just good it lingers.. appleblossom would be so good to have. Long time since I have this type of calander, and I would certainly let the applcblossom stay…

    Like

  4. claudia says:

    this made me smile… we have an art calendar this year…and some of the pics were just too good to have them only for a month, so we kinda let them and did big jumps to the next one we liked much… glad you joined us viv

    Like

  5. Ah! That is such a sweet write. Well-penned.
    -HA

    Like

  6. Morgan says:

    Wonderful little verse 🙂

    Like

  7. Ruth says:

    oh good thinking, keeping the apple blossoms of May… & the kingfisher (so that’s how to make time stand still) – lovely poem

    Like

  8. So happy you made it. I would relish the scent of apple blossoms, now. I’m such a sunshine, person…California born and bred.

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    I always buy my mother a calendar with beautiful photos of Sussex. She sent me one with monthly bread recipes. 🙂

    Like

  10. Mary says:

    Viv, sometimes I forget to turn the pages of the calendar too. Months pass WAY too fast.

    Like

  11. ManicDdaily says:

    Lovely– a very wonderful metaphor in your hands. k.

    Like

  12. Gabriella says:

    I smiled when I read your words, Viv. And now I wonder whether, in a few days, you will turn the pages until you reach December.

    Like

  13. brian miller says:

    i am glad you tucked that apple blossom in there to keep you warm on months that it def is not….the kingfisher who turns over september…pretty cool turn of phrase viv…glad you found your words…smiles.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

