The Bridge

 

The bridge at Carcassonne 2005

The bridge at Carcassonne 2005

A blog is a bridge between brains
communication between strangers
until they are strangers no more.
Intangible connection breeds friendship –
the virtual sometimes becomes real
when bloggers meet
and bridge is no longer needed.

I have met five of my dozens of blogging friends, and each time it’s been an instant rapport. I’d love to meet more. Bridge is Misky’s first prompt at We Write Poems – welcome blogging friend!  

I also wrote a Bridge story for children, which is here, at the bottom of my Fiction page

Thepicture was taken during a wonderful holiday cruising the Canal de Midi with Jock’s sister and  her late husband.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, pictures, short poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Bridge

  1. Marvelous metaphor, aye lass ye haft dun good.

    Like

  2. Irene says:

    Virtual friends are real, Viv.

    Like

  3. It’s a very special thing, all in all, meeting up with someone after being a part of their world through blogging. Like meeting up with a pen pal, “in the old days”. There’s a connection and, dare I say, a recognition of one another.

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    So very true, Viv. I would love to meet you in person. You never know.

    Pamela

    Like

  5. Eha says:

    ‘ . . . until they are strangers no more . . . ‘ So many ostensibly ‘wise’ told me I was kidding myself . . . a few years later I feel they are the ones losing out . . .

    Like

  6. So true, Viv. I have met some lovely people through poetry blogs. I’ve yet to meet them in person (I think that would be wonderful) but still they have touched my life with their poems and words of encouragement.

    Like

  7. colonialist says:

    When I have formed a virtual friendship on the blog, and subsequently met the person, it has only served to confirm a real connection.

    Like

  8. I’m so happy to have been one of the five!

    I love the idea expressed in this poem.

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    So true how friendships grow from these communities, and I challenge any skeptic to say that they aren’t real. Lovely poem, Viv, and thank you for responding to my Bridges prompt. Another will be waiting next week!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

