A Good Day

For the first day since the catastrophic move, I have taken NO painkillers.  The reason? When I was first injured, the GP prescribed a special back-supporting belt.  Somehow it disappeared like a lot of things.  Yesterday I put out clean sheets etc for my bed, and found the belt under a pile of pillow cases.  How weird is that?  Anyway, I seized it with glee and followed the complicated instructions to the letter.  The effect was magical, and today I have done more than I have for weeks, including a double dose of sewing on the rapidly growing wedding present quilt.

My daughter and family are home from their adventures in Kenya, albeit with somewhat dodgy tummies, but ready to share all the stories and pictures, including the baby elephant who put his ‘arm’ (trunk) round Sally and stroked her lovingly.  It’s just a tad unfortunate that the orphan elephant had just been squirming in a mud bath, but who cares?  It seems to have been a lovely moment.  Elephant pictures and the story of the trip are here:

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, prose and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Good Day

  1. thehutts says:

    There will be a Kenya blog or 3 when we have edited the hundreds of photos that were taken! If anyone wants to help the orphaned elephants here is a link to the details: http://www.sheldrickwildlifetrust.org/
    Sally

    Like

  2. So happy for you, Viv. Perhaps I need one of those belts. Fun how we have to get all cinched up as we age!

    Like

  3. Jo Woolf says:

    Good news, Viv! I hope you continue to make a good recovery.

    Like

  4. It was lovely to see your renewed energy on Tuesday. What a relief for you to not be in constant pain, neighbour!

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    I’m delighted to read this. Truly delighted.

    Like

  6. colonialist says:

    Glad you’ve found backup! Pity it didn’t turn up sooner.

    Like

  7. neil reid says:

    good for you Viv. maybe that counts as buried treasure! glad you/re feeling more at ease.

    Like

  8. I am so happy that you found your belt and that it has helped you feel better. The pictures are amazing!

    Like

  9. So glad you are feeling better. What a shame you didn’t find the belt earlier.

    Like

  10. Wonderful news Viv – I can imagine how excited you were to find the belt so unexpectedly. Just great you’re pain free to share all the stories of your family’s Kenya adventure. So happy for you.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

