A Rebellious almost Rondeau with too many Rhymes and no substance

 

Viva la volta.
A sonnet instructs us
on structural strictures.
but my rondeau’s
decidedly aberrant.

Swimming against the current
means pop icons aren’t my cup of tea,
Beyoncé and Bono  recurrent on TV.
Vive revolta.

Throw me a lifebelt –
my plea is heartfelt.
I know no more icons –
unless they are bygones
like me. You get the picture.
Viva la volta.

Tony Maude at dVerse gives us a comprehensive recipe for writing a Rondau, where only 2 rhymes are necessary in this 15-line form with a repeated refrain line which doesn’t rhyme.  I re-constituted an old one of mine, but was unable/unwilling to keep to just two rhymes.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Rebellious almost Rondeau with too many Rhymes and no substance

  1. colonialist says:

    I can see good raisin for the currant treatment to go with this flow!

    Like

  2. Rule breakers rule! Viva la Revolta!

    Like

  3. Susan Chast says:

    Yes, Yes. Thank you for this irreverence that is its own message. You have courage and humor both. Probably a spitfire life!

    Like

  4. Oh, lovely fun! Viva revolta indeed. 🙂

    Like

  5. shanyns says:

    Very very cool! Loving where you went with this!

    Like

  6. Bryan Ens says:

    sometimes breaking form is the best way to write a great poem…as you definitely did!

    Like

  7. Your sense of humor shines in this one Viv. I just read through a number of your posts…your productivity and originality is amazing. You brings smiles to the blogosphere, especially to this old lady.

    Like

  8. ManicDdaily says:

    Super clever whatever it is– I especially like “Viva revolta.” Can be taken a lot of different ways. The short lines are especially effective here. Thanks. k.

    Like

  9. What fun! Very clever… 🙂

    Like

  10. ha.. yes I understand the fun quite vividly.. Now I will link up one I did earlier this week with more fun in it (actually on the same theme)…

    Like

  11. aprille says:

    Love your self-deprecating title and the tongue-in-cheek version of the rondeaux [ or whatever :-)]
    and I’m glad your refrain only flirted with the viva earworm….

    Like

  12. brian miller says:

    ha. i remember back in the day….smiles…
    swim swim on against the tide…
    but i think it just might take us all in….

    Like

  13. I tried viv, but not sure I was rondeau’ing enough.

    Like

  14. Tony Maude says:

    I get the picture too – Beyonce ….ugh! And the lovely thing about form is that we are free to use it as we choose – a freedom our predecessors rarely allowed themselves. Really enjoyed this Viv, but then I knew I would… smiles

    Like

  15. hypercryptical says:

    I get the picture! Love that you’ve swum against the tide too.
    Anna :o]

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

