Six-word Saturday

I’m asked to write in rhyme
for Octpowrimo today
but I’m well past my prime
so what I have to say
is anything but sublime

I write fairly often in rhyme, so the prompt was nothing new to me.  So I went on an archive trawl of my blog for rhyming poems and came up  with one I wrote a year or so ago, but which is still topical.  Will they ever change?

BLINDNESS

The mind boggles at their blindness –
those men of power who fail to see
the contempt in which we hold them,
for their greed, their lack of kindness,
for lying cupidity and venality.

Politicians blind to suffering and poverty –
their eyes only on the main chance,
thinking always “what’s in it for me,”
their ears only open to big business –
they deny their faults emphatically.

Where are the lenses which will bless
their vision with more clarity,
where  the aids to unstop their ears,
where are the men of charity
to lead with truth, morality and fairness?

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in politics, rants, re-blogs, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Six-word Saturday

  1. Perfect! We in the USA know this blindness all too we’ll. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Tonya says:

    These are great Viv!

    Like

  3. Jim says:

    I too like rhyming poetry. This one may not need that though since it is ‘political’ chastisement. I do agree with this one though. I don’t know where our next ‘leaders’ will come from, yours either.

    My Six Words today:
    http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2013/10/travel-not-six-word-saturday.html
    ..

    Like

  4. We’re feeling the pain of that second one right now. It’s the same all over, I suppose.

    Like

  5. Karen S says:

    Wow, I’d be hard pressed to write one myself! You on the other hand did a bang up job! Excellent!

    Like

  6. restlessjo says:

    Truth, morality and fairness, Viv? Don’t make me laugh! (very sadly) 😦

    Like

  7. granny1947 says:

    Unfortunately they won’t change…greed seems to overcome all…in this country anyway.

    Like

  8. Your poem should be the front page of every single newspaper in the world. It is so relevant, sadly on point and needs to be seen by everyone.

    Like

  9. I love both 🙂
    And still very much up-to-date indeed. Don’t think that will ever change, no!

    Like

  10. cecilia says:

    So relevant. So VERY relevant and true.. c

    Like

  11. First one – everything you write is sublime.

    Second one – could have been written this morning.

    Like

  12. Shah Wharton says:

    I love using some form of rhyme when writing poetry. I had a free-flow moment a few years back, but it still found a few rhymes ‘accidentally’, Although I know it’s not fashionable these days, I think if we are creative with it, like you have been here, it can still be powerful and ‘relevant’.

    http://wp.me/p2Mm4H-bY

    Like

  13. rosross says:

    I think real poetry rhymes in some way. Well done. so much that is called poetry these days is just prose to my mind… interesting prose, good prose, often excellent prose but not poetry.

    Like

  14. Beautifully written!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

