Bone of Contention

My compulsion to break silence
provokes anger in my other half.
What he doesn’t realise
is that his irritation makes me laugh.
I answer questions on TV –
any half-baked quiz will do
to see if I can beat the box
contestants, no matter who.

But woe betide me if I speak aloud
and spoil his train of thought.
To shout at the screen is not allowed –
he’d much prefer strict silence.

for Octpowrimo, day 14

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in humour, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Bone of Contention

  1. thehutts says:

    I inherited the genes of talking to the telly and other objects much to the annoyance of the family. I didn’t inherit your wide general knowledge so never fare well in quizzes. Sally

    Like

  2. ladynimue says:

    so sweet and so much fun πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. I’m the one in my relationship who is the ‘shusher’. lol God forbid my poor husband starts talking in the middle of something I’m watching on tv. πŸ˜‰ I liked getting a peek at the other side of the coin.

    Like

  4. Rhi says:

    Aw man, to live like this, I talk to the tv all the time. Not just quizzes but everything.

    Like

  5. colonialist says:

    Oh, surely giving answers on quiz shows isn’t on his banned list? I mean, that is half the fun of them, together with that smug feeling when you know it and the contestant doesn’t – or if you both do it, when yours is right and his isn’t.

    Like

  6. I had to wince a little because I tend to be the one asking for silence. Although I am also the one talking to the T.V. and laughing out loud. πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. this made me think of something I often say : I love that man but there are times I could cheerfully smother him with a pillow.” heh heh

    Like

  8. Men are such tyrants when they are not being sweethearts πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. The Real Cie says:

    I’ve always thought that if I were to go on a game show, I’d get terrible stage fright and forget my own name. It would be the fourth grade spelling bee all over again, where they asked me to spell carton, and I spelled it “c-o-r-t-o-n.”
    I would much rather play the games from the safety of my own home too!

    Like

  10. yikici says:

    This made me chuckle, I can relate to this, I often analyse films I watch and have been told to ‘shush’; but where’s the excitement in that? lol

    Like

  11. Shah Wharton says:

    I’m like your husband when I’m watching a movie, favourite drama or reading. Not because I lopv the silence of course, but because I’m absorbed rather. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. barbara_y says:

    He married the whole package of you, and likely wouldn’t trade you for some quiet mouse even if she came with money and a guarantee.

    Like

  13. Ah the joys of marriage πŸ˜€

    Like

  14. LOL I can see the naughty side in you πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Bastet says:

    Alas…I know this tune
    been living with it for an age
    of course he sings a different song
    when ’tis he who wishes to talk away!

    Good go Vivi!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

