Octpowrimo Day 10 – a cop out

The Octpo prompt for day entailed looking for another poem and either incorporating bits or writing an answer.

My day today does not allow
a thorough search for inspiration
and so I sigh and mop my brow
and steal from RJ Clarken
her prompt to write a Saraband
a rhythmic, rhyme you understand,
in doggerel less than spartan.

Here’s my attempt, which you will also find at Poetic Bloomings

Saraband

I think it would be good to dance
but if I tried the pain would lance
so sad to say I have no chance.
The music plays inside my head
the will is there but pain I dread.
The time will come when bone will mend
and I shall dance – a happy end.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, nonsense poems, rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Octpowrimo Day 10 – a cop out

  1. Q says:

    I love these short poems! Both made me smile and lifted up my mood. Great job!

    Like

  2. colonialist says:

    Something to look forward to, indeed! I wonder how many people would set their sights on a Sarabande, these days? Oh, thanks – now you’ve triggered off Grieg’s Holberg Suite on my mental player …

    Like

  3. yikici says:

    This is so cute. 😀

    Like

  4. it’s a perfect little diddy. 🙂

    Like

  5. Wonderful and hopeful and positive. Love.

    Like

  6. Shah Wharton says:

    You managed that without fault Viv. I loved the positive ending. X

    Like

  7. ladynimue says:

    Amazing .. you make this rhyme look so fun and lively ..

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

