OCTPOWRIMO’S BACK WITH A BANG

The first prompt for this challenge is here requiring us to sit on a park bench and conjure up a poem from autumn sights, scents and sounds.  But we are allowed to write about whatever inspires us.  As I am (mostly) still confined to bed, I have allowed my imagination to wander to the wonderful artwork byCatrin Welz-Stein offered to us on Saturday at   dVerse. One of the pieces in particular took me away from my confined world.  Because I missed the original prompt, I shall post this at Open Link Night.

ADVENTURE

the-business-mens-goodbye-by-catrin-welz-stein

ADVENTURE

Beloved of children everywhere
the magic clock of dandelion
flies lightly here and there.
Balletic shapes of fluffy seeds
make a fantasy world of dreams.

Imagine you could fly like that,
go where the wind would take you,
see the world from a comfy hat
away from misery, pain and trouble
protected by an enchanted bubble.

When all the seeds have flown away,
sown to grow in garden lawn or  prairie.
Golden glory in random spray
gathered for rabbit food by grannies
except a few in nooks and crannies,

left to seed and start again
that fantasy trip for staid old men.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in ekphrastic poetry, formal poetry, pictures, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to OCTPOWRIMO’S BACK WITH A BANG

  1. ayala says:

    A magical poem 🙂

    Like

  2. siggiofmaine says:

    Delightful !
    Peace
    Siggi

    Like

  3. “Imagine you could fly like that,
    go where the wind would take you,
    see the world from a comfy hat
    away from misery, pain and trouble
    protected by an enchanted bubble.”

    =========================================================

    Awesome! poem and I feel the same way with the lines you wrote. 🙂

    Like

  4. Tony Maude says:

    Don’t talk to me about dandelions … grrrrr – I have a lawn full of them and thistles. They’re wonderful in the right places – like in this fabulous, joyous poem, but that place is not in my garden.

    Like

  5. Wonderful words of fantasy to those wonderful dandelion dreams… imagine to flow like that,

    Like

  6. markwindham says:

    imagine indeed. very nice wandering

    Like

  7. Misky says:

    This is charming and adorable and every bit a Viv poem. I simply love this.

    Like

  8. colonialist says:

    You have given your imagination – and ours! – full flight.

    Like

  9. I love the artwork and the poem fit perfectly for it! So glad you decided to join us this year!

    Like

  10. I so loved it! I could picture everything in front of my eyes!

    Like

  11. anxiousgeek says:

    Lovely. Just magical.

    Like

  12. brian miller says:

    nice…dandelions are my fav flower…i like the allusion to ballet as well…never thought of them that way but it works…my wife was a ballerina as well…

    Like

  13. Shah Wharton says:

    I loved the format an the wordplay. And that last line made me smile. X

    Like

  14. ladywhispers says:

    This was just so imaginative. You can so see oneself there.

    Like

  15. cecilia says:

    Love that line, this fancy trip for staid old men! morning Viv.. c

    Like

  16. That was beautiful, your words made it so real.

    Like

  17. Nave says:

    Amazing wordplay! Very vivid and picturesque! Loved it 🙂

    Like

  18. Love this image and your response.

    Like

  19. ladynimue says:

    Trippy , Fantastical and so so fresh 🙂

    Like

  20. Sorry about the change of typesize: WP does the strangest things sometimes!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

