Saying the Unsayable


I’d like to be a fly on the wall at my funeral,
hear the music I’ve chosen and see their reactions,
specially to Send in the Clowns and Thank you for the Music.
That reminds me,
I must write a wry poem for the occasion,
with multi-syllabic words, unconventional metre
tongue twisting alliteration and lots of caesura.
I’ll nominate one of my poet friends to read it –
she’s always telling me off for verbosity
and the fly on the wall will laugh her socks off.
The Bright Seraphim will join the fun before
they go all solemn to the sonorous
Saint Saens Organ Symphony as they shuffle out,
trying to think of something unhackneyed
to say to the relatives
.

Victoria Slotto has set a humdinger of a prompt at dVerse tonight:
“You Want Me to Do What?”

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, humour, life writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Saying the Unsayable

  1. vidyatiru says:

    really made me smile 🙂 and just a wonderful idea..

    Like

  2. shanyns says:

    Now that is a totally cool idea – writing a poem to be read. In a style that carries the joke only you and the reader get. Awesome write.

    Like

  3. Yes — maybe I should write that I want highway to hell — he he that would be a great thing.

    Like

  4. thehutts says:

    Now stop getting morbid! Good poem though so I know I can stop worrying for a while. S

    Like

  5. MarinaSofia says:

    A humorous look at a subject that very many find quite difficult to talk about. I loved your swipe at the often rather pretentious poetry that is read at funerals.

    Like

  6. I enjoyed this so much! I esp. loved the writing a poem to tweak your friend. This was great!

    Like

  7. adamsmurphy says:

    Simple tone….. And the friend poet! Sooner to appear???

    Like

  8. Exactly. Live it up when I go too. I liked the lightness and reality in this. Always a pleasure to read you, Viv.
    http://beachanny.blogspot.com/2013/09/we-were-ones.html#comment-form

    Like

  9. Lynda says:

    My husband and I once sat visiting at his mom’s house discussing how we wanted to die. (I want to go in the tomato patch like the Godfather, BTW) We never got to the funeral arrangements! You pose food for thought, Viv. Thank you for the smile! 😉

    Like

  10. I love how you turned this into something that made me smile. I’ve decided I’m not having a funeral at all.

    Like

  11. Laurie Kolp says:

    Sounds like a lovely idea.

    Like

  12. brian miller says:

    ha. what a treat that would be eh? i want bagpipes and electric guiters to do the punk version of amazing grace, personally….smiles…ha…in that uncomfortable moment of trying to find something to say, i’d love to shock them one more time…smiles..

    Like

  13. Viv, I love this! First of all–“Send in the Clowns.” And why not? The idea of writing a snarky poem is great. I love the verve of this…but may the event be a long ways off. We need you for a while, to keep us smiling and thinking.

    Like

  14. I love this – your character shines throughout.

    I’d love to be a fly on the wall at my own funeral, so it struck a chord 🙂

    Like

  15. colonialist says:

    I like your thinking. A great way to be gone but not forgotten!
    I would, of course, in a spirit of, ‘Nah, na-na nah nah!’ impose some of my own compositions upon the captive audience. Particularly the merry ones. And some doggerel!

    Like

  16. Excellent, I found myself rejoicing at the imagery all the way through. Let them laugh, when I die, and say it was a blast knowing her,

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

