LIFE

Poetic Bloomings has asked for a seed poem – ie where we take the first line from someone else’s poem and continue with our own words.  

I’ve been working on this off and on all day, and it’s still over-simplistic. My first line comes from Shakespeare’s Sonnet 15, so I stuck with the Shakespearean sonnet form.

Life

When I consider every thing that grows,
in  kingdoms, classes, order, family, genus,
and species diverse, too various to know,
that interlock in independent ethos,

I wonder at the being that conceived
of such a complex program for creation.
It brings reluctance in me to believe
in random chance: beyond my expectation.

Darwin thought of it as evolution,
development of habitat and climate
but he missed the ultimate solution
of what produced a human from a primate.

He failed to answer how it all began,
this world of ours that is so very grand.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, Poems, rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LIFE

  1. cecilia says:

    Life is such a big word.. c

    Like

  2. Not simplistic at all! I love your first stanza and the succession of the entire piece. 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh Viv, this is one of your best! I love it. I like the way it progresses and then comes to a definite conclusion.

    My only suggestion: a comma instead of a full stop at the end of the first stanza.

    Like

  4. well done! It’s quite a challenge I think.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

