Six word Saturday

There’s progress in the house

Things are gradually being unpacked and homes found for them, specially since the island unit in the kitchen is now up and running.  I’m allowed to sit in a cushioned chair and say what goes where.  Sometimes that’s where they’re put!  Jock made the table on the end, as well as the desk behind (known as a bonheur de jour in French, which means happiness of the day)

kitchen island island unit

the new settee came yesterday – we haven’t really tried it out, as the room arrangement isn’t right yet.

new settee

for six word saturday

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Six word Saturday

  1. Call Me Cate says:

    I love to set up house. Finding a place for everything, making it feel like home… And such a lovely little piece of furniture with such an adorable name! Oh to have someone handy in my home who could build me even simple things, let alone something so nice!

    Thanks for playing 6WS!

    Like

  2. Kate says:

    Jock is an amazing furniture maker! The legs on the bonheur de jeur are gorgeous.

    Like

  3. Lovely wood work…so impressive. I feel that “home” is beginning to happen.

    Like

  4. colonialist says:

    btw – that’s five! You can give yourself the luxury of an expletive, if you like!

    Like

  5. colonialist says:

    So satisfying as order gradually comes out of chaos!

    Like

  6. Mlissabeth says:

    Yay for progress!

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    That little cabinet is beautiful, Viv. Your Jock’s a clever ‘un! Bet you’re glad you found him (or he found you 🙂 ) I wish both of you many happy days in your kitchen together.

    Like

  8. Ellen Knight says:

    Viv, it looks like it is really becoming a home. I am so happy for you. The table looks like a lovely place to sit and share a pot of tea. Too bad I am far enough away (Providence, RI) that that is unlikely. But distance can’t stop me from my sending you love. (And a blessing for good health, as well).

    Like

  9. Hilary says:

    Looks beautiful! I love it!

    Like

  10. Judy says:

    Love the desk in the kitchen! I am sure everything will find a home.

    Like

  11. Tonya says:

    I am happy to hear you are up and moving around more. Everything looks lovely and that desk is gorgeous!

    Like

  12. Jim says:

    🙂 Viv, it looks like you’re getting ready for snuggling in. The weather is right for that now, eh? Here this morning we have a north wind and the temps are down into the 70’s. I like your kitchen. I spend 80% of my spare time at home here in ours.

    Your Jock is sooo handy! I know you will spend lots of hours on the table. Lots of poems will take birth there. A birthing table?? The desk you mentioned, is that the little secretary? It is a really nice one. I have been looking for one of those, as small as I can find (and old–cheap–but not antique) for my ‘office.’

    Best wishes for your new home. Nous vous souhaitons beaucoup de jours de bonheur dans l’année à venir, may it be a place for many inspirational days there. (Your phrase has Mrs. Jim sitting here with her French/English dictionary. It has seen literaly many miles since she began her French studies in college back about 21 years ago when Karen left home.)

    Like

  13. That is beautiful…in the kitchen!! I could sit and take tea there so nicely!! Beautiful, Viv!!

    Like

  14. It’s getting there and before you know it, you will feel right at home. 🙂

    Like

  15. Ron. says:

    It took us a while to settle in, when we moved. I put stuff here & there, then My Beloved Sandra came along to put it all it its “right” place.

    Like

  16. Viv, the kitchen island is really adorable, ready for many happy dinners and talks. I love the color!
    The couch looks like it is good for your back, I hope it is comfortable! 🙂

    Like

  17. cessie says:

    Oh wow I love the island unit and table… it looks great!
    I like it when there’s progress in the house, it gives a satisfying feeling don’t you think! Good luck with the remainder of it.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

