The Flavour of June

A therapeutic walk around the garden
produced a taste explosion:
lurking under a tangle of bindweed,
a honeyed fragrance lures me to explore.

I think that I’m in heaven  –
first stolen fruit excels Eve’s sinful apple
by a million miles.
Soft pink in flavour, kind in the mouth,
I lift another leaf to find the treasure,
tear at the bindweed to reveal more.
Squeezing  joy between tongue and palate
I run for a bowl, on second thoughts, two.

Divine though the flavour of first found fruit,
when halved in a bowl
with a generous dollop
of thick gloopy cream
and a sprinkling of fine sugar,
the final ecstasy exceeds all.

For Margot Roby’s Tuesday Tryouts 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in food, free verse, life writing. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Flavour of June

  1. margo roby says:

    Yes, I am a trifle behind and missing you like crazy. I don’t have strawberries but I do have a bowl of cherries to hand.

    Like

    • Me too (missing the weekly round. I’ve written very little this month, and the chaos is getting worse. We have a cherry tree full of almost-ripe cherries (summer arrived .two weeks ago) but at the first sign of red the birds descend in feathered phalanxes and snitch the lot!

      Like

      • margo roby says:

        You try saying ‘feathered phalanxes’, even in your head, three times.

        We have a fig tree at the home to which we retire next year. We shall need to be devious to beat the birds. I’m thinking nets.

        The chaos appears to me one of the hardest things to fight.

        Like

  2. julespaige says:

    I tried to get a picture of the bindweed fruit, but didn’t come up with anything other than it was an invasive weed related to the morning glory plant. I’ve got some wild berries that I share with the birds. I pick a bit each day and freeze it until I get a quart or two and then just boil it with a bit of water and sugar to make jam. I don’t bother with pectin – the amount isn’t that much and doesn’t last long.

    Thanks for your visit. Glad you enjoyed your treat.

    Like

    • viv blake says:

      The tangle of bindweed (a member of the ipomea family) was all-but smothering the strawberry patch, so it was wonderful to discover the ripe fruit hidden among its coils. Bindweed has no fruit but is well-nigh impossible to get rid of. I can’t bend much,these days and Jock doesn’t do weeds, hence the neglected strawberry patch.

      Like

      • julespaige says:

        Ah, gotcha. I tried a small patch once, but then the tree grew… Now I get my strawberries from the farmers market.

        Yes I did read that bindweed is as bad as Kudzu is in the south (USA) – Not sure where Kudzu came from it grows fast and like bindweed kills everything else.

        Like

  3. thehutts says:

    We will have wild and cultivated strawberries to pick in the garden in a few weeks time! Sally

    Like

  4. You reminded me of when my tantine Cecile and I would go out in the back to pick strawberries in the morning. She would wash them, cut off the stems and prepare two bowls; one with just the strawberries sprinled with a little sugar and the other, strawberries sprinkled with a little sugar and then doused with a good measure of Saint Emilion and the two bowls would sit and wait until midi. It was delicious.:)

    Like

  5. brian miller says:

    oo la la…i love my fruit….in the last storm we lost a cherry tree…it was sad, but hey at least i was finally able to reach the ones on top…smiles…that was a treat in the sad…

    Like

  6. Ooh, yummy! Another one for your recipe collection?

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

