Light, a Quatern

 

 

Miz Quickly requires a Quatern and/or a Cascade for Napowrimo day 23.  I started with a quatern based on yesterday’s Haiga

Light

Light is vital, it does strange things
when interrupted, shadows form
de-form according to light source
and direction, from long to small.

In photography, as in life,
light is vital. It does strange things
to object image and background –
brightens one, obscures the other.

Deprivation to a blind man
must be a major tragedy.
Light is vital, it does strange things.
Without it he can only feel

his way around by touch and sound
and smell. Senses become enhanced –
without them, life not worth living.
Light is vital, it does strange things.

The form for a quatern is: 16 lines broken up into 4 quatrains (or 4-line stanzas). Each line is comprised of eight syllables. The first line is the refrain. In the second stanza, the refrain appears in the second line; in the third stanza, the third line; in the fourth stanza, the fourth (and final) line. There are no rules for rhyming or iambics, although I think the original quaterns in French were usually iambic tetrameter. I found several examples in French and they all had this rhyme scheme: abab but I chose to do mine in free verse.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, free verse. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Light, a Quatern

  1. Pamela says:

    Beautiful work, Viv. I am struggling to get round to read and lest not forget to write something postable.

    Pamela

    Like

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Like this a lot Viv, especially after just reading the source. They go very well together. The first based in the image, the second in its reflection. Light does strange things, even to words.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/spring-meltdown/

    Like

  3. margo roby says:

    I love this, ViV. I already liked the form, but you have one that works especially well. I couldn’t even get to the table. I’m out in the scullery.

    Like

  4. Quickly says:

    Those subtle shifts in meaning are especially fine. My repeated lines usually just sit there (” Oh, is it my turn? Again? All right: Bla, bla, and bla. Yawn”)

    Like

  5. I like the declining sense of light in this, Viv and the refrain makes it even more apparent our vital need of light.

    Like

  6. It’s a little eery with the repetitive “light is vital, it does strange things”. It is very good.:)

    Like

  7. Stan Ski says:

    You covered a fair bit of ground in a short space, without getting too… heavy…

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

