Wordle 96

wordle 96

Candlelight is kind to old faces,
smoothes the wrinkles.
Under the glow, the years
are held in suspense,
hiding from the cruelty
of a naked bulb.

Botox and surgery
are not the door to re-birth
as an imaginary younger you.
Lacking signs of a life lived well ,
all character has scurried away.

At the root of all such foolishness
is vanity.
Stay in the gentle candlelight,
and continue to be you.

I’m not yet happy with this and will probably tinker a bit for days, so any ideas for improvement will be welcome.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wordle 96

  1. love it. the sound of the words ‘candlelight is kind to old faces’ and I completely agree with the sentiment. Nicely done.

    Like

  2. Tumblewords says:

    How very true and poetic, too!

    Like

  3. brenda w says:

    I agree with the ideas, Viv. My hair is slowly turning gray, and I’m not good friends with make up, even. A metaphor of some kind might spice it up. As it stands, I did enjoy the read.

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    Viv, I also don’t think all of that cosmetic surgery is such a good idea, however it is big business everywhere. Well said. I am finally making my rounds today on wordle poems, life is incredibly busy.

    Pamela

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    Quite right, Viv. Wear it with pride is what I do.

    Like

  6. oldegg says:

    Candlelight not only softens the features it softens the mood.

    Like

  7. Amazing how you came up with a poem that is not only thoughtful poetry but uses all the words!

    Like

  8. I love your approach to these words and your opening cycling round to you end…very gently beautiful, Viv!

    Like

  9. julespaige says:

    Viv, you don’t have to change a thing. My first thought was of Joan Rivers…And well just how not real she looks. And then other actors who do nothing and do age gracefully. They’re not crows feet I tell ya – they are laugh lines and I love each and every one of ’em.

    I went ‘dark’ with this list, with my short piece:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2013/02/sunday-whirl-96-short-elfje-quad-wave.html

    Like

  10. peggygoetz says:

    This is wonderful Viv. Maybe that’s also the blessing of fading eye sight. I love the whole idea of a face reflecting a life well lived.

    Like

  11. cecilia says:

    When i go out I will not even enter a bright restaurant, or wee bar. i love the low light it is so comforting.. great poem, saying exactly what we need to hear..good morning viv.. c

    Like

  12. nan says:

    I like the closing instruction: stay in the gentle candlelight. Wisdom, for sure.

    Like

  13. That’s it then, I am going to invest in candles and toss out my light bulbs. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  14. Beginning and ending with candlelight adds an aura of mystery and, as others have notice, gentleness to this paean to ageing. Tinker with it, if you will, but it’s pretty darn good the way it is!

    Whirling with Gary Soto

    Like

  15. Laurie Kolp says:

    I agree… character, wisdom and experience comes with age… so why try to cover it up with botox and such.

    Like

  16. Jae Rose says:

    Yes candlelight is a comfort..inside and out..

    Like

  17. Stan Ski says:

    wysiwyg… Cold light of day… take it or leave it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  18. Irene says:

    I thought these lines are core.

    Lacking signs of a life lived well ,
    all character has scurried away.

    Like it too.

    Like

  19. 1sojournal says:

    I like it and want to see it after you tinker with it. There is such a tone of peaceful acceptance to this, and would be afraid to lose that,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. drpkp says:

    Oh I do like this one Viv – it has gentled me off to sleep. Thank you – lovely poem ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  21. I’ll think about it and get back to you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

