A little bit of fun

oldchurchladies

Au Marché

Bonjour Marie-Lou,
(bisou, bisou, bisou)
T’a mal ou ?

La hanche, le genou –
un peu partout.
Me too.

Photo credit http://lauraconsistentlyinconsistent.blogspot.fr/2010/12/old-ladies.html
Translation of this regularly heard exchange among my age group:

At the Market

Hallo Mary Lou.
(air kisses, three)
Where does it hurt?
My hip, my knee,
just about everywhere.
And me.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, pictures, Poems, rhyming poetry, short poetry, translations. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A little bit of fun

  1. Wonderful dialogue and it turns into such nice verse.

    Like

  2. Pat Hatt says:

    haha fun indeed, sadly know how she feels even at my age

    Like

  3. Pamela says:

    Viv, I suppose we can get there, if we are so lucky. Thanks for my late night chuckle.

    Pamela

    Like

  4. Ruth says:

    fun in the telling, but i know how they feel… love this, viv

    Like

  5. Blue Flute says:

    Love this! Especially the French version, very playful.

    Like

  6. janehewey says:

    very nicely done! i’m smiling.

    Like

  7. Laurie Kolp says:

    haha… thanks for the giggles

    Like

  8. brian miller says:

    ha at least they can connect in their pains…and relate…smiles…nice

    Like

  9. That is so adorable. I wish someday I’ll have an “old lady” friend like that too. Except we’ll be eating ice cream on a bench, while people watching at the park. 😀

    Like

  10. Fun in French and English!

    I just found this in my inbox; I must have missed it.

    Like

  11. Sherry Marr says:

    Oh, me, too. Oui, oui:)

    Like

  12. Now, I hope I keep these kinds of girlfriends to a ripe old age! Grande dames, for sure, Viv. Love, Amy

    Like

  13. cecilia says:

    Ok that made me laugh! gorgeous! c

    Like

  14. That is so cute.:)

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

