A twofer

We Write Poems gives us the prompt “If you could go back in time and impart a bit of wisdom to your sixteen year old self, what would you say?  “

Would I have listened?

Do what you have to do, on time and with good grace.
Be kind, loving, steadfast, tolerant and true.
Do what you love to do, with a smile on your face.
Laugh when things go wrong, don’t let them make you blue.

 Carry on Tuesday suggests we reflect on the nature of friendship.

What is a friend ?

A cat ? A dog ? No, that’s just cupboard love.
My friends are there when I’m in trouble,
as I am there for them.
Company, sympathy, laughter and fun,
reciprocated  – that’s what friends are for.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, rhyming poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A twofer

  1. Irene says:

    As Elizabeth said, I think the title is very telling.

    Like

  2. Also, your phrase “cupboard love,” how insightful, great description.

    Like

  3. Viv, you embody all the qualities which you try to tell your 16-year-old self… I would not have listened, either!! And the cat/dog vs. human friend who can understand your situation and give advice, consolation, and support, yes, that’s real friendship. These paired well and I loved the irony of your first title! Amy

    Like

  4. 4joy says:

    I like keeping it light, too….

    Like

  5. JulesPaige says:

    I had watched a show once where, “a native African tribe was trying to get something heavy down a river, they got bumped and bruised in the process, but with each pound instead of a groan they laughed which made the task lighter indeed”,…so said the foreigner for who the trip was being made. The lesson there too was how important laughter is at any age. Listening to our elders… that’s a different story. We do see though now how our eldest has said upon occasion that he wished he had listened to us way back when now he has to go back so to speak before he can go forward. But is doing so with amazing grace.

    I’m here with this prompt
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/09/wwp-122-dear-prudence.html

    Like

  6. nan says:

    True then, and now… to sixteen-year-olds of any age 🙂

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    I particularly like your opening question: “Would I have listened?” My only answer, right now, is I really don’t know. That doesn’t diminish the wisdom in what you have to say, but this prompt kept me circling that very question,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  8. sharechair says:

    I wish someone had given me that advice when I was 16.

    Like

  9. Sabio Lantz says:

    “laugh when things go wrong” <– truly an art to learn. Nice!

    Like

  10. I love both of these. The first advice should be given to every sixteen year old.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

