colour me happy 2

Cerulean, a beautiful word
for a heavenly colour of sky
When Spring once more
colours me happy,
when fluffy white clouds
speckle the coverlet
my sombre winter mood will fly.

The colours of summer are golden
and green of budding trees.
Massed brightness of flowers
splendorises the garden,
glee fizzes in children’s eyes
happiness rules the  skies
and the beach beckons.

The colours of Autumn
dazzle, with the glow
of yellows and reds
until the air becomes full
of a kaleidoscope of falling leaves

Gray is the colour of winter
until the miracle that is snow
puts a shine on a dingy world.
Never think that snow is merely white:
look again and see purple, blue,  yellow
brought to sparkling life by winter sun.

The We Write Poems prompt this week is for a colour poem, repeating a theme from January 2012.  The first stanza was posted then, but I decided to continue in the same vein.  This needs a bit of shrinking, and I shall probably come back to it.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to colour me happy 2

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Love your finding of so many colors in snow here, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful writing. I love seeing the seasons in color.

    Like

  3. This is melty-colorful goodness at its best, Viv…my mind just feasted on this display!

    Love the word coverlet for a sky description!

    Like

  4. barbara_ says:

    splendorises
    splendor + irises

    My favorite part here is the colors in snow, which we do tend to forget.

    Like

  5. Elizabeth says:

    For me, colors bring a sense of joy and that is the feeling I get from your poem Viv. Wonderfully bright and bouncing. Great way to start my day,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2009/01/01/a-woman-of-color/

    Like

  6. Ron. says:

    Good one, V. I, too, love “splenorization”.

    Like

  7. JulesPaige says:

    A delightful seasonal journey.

    Viv – here is a link to the directions of writing haiku, tanka and renga – at least what I was taught.
    I’m sure there are more than one way to write American Japanese Style poetry 🙂
    There are so many forms I just don’t know. The simplicity and complexity of each is a different challenge.

    http://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/haiku-and-other-sparkles/

    Like

    • vivinfrance says:

      So far as it goes yes, but both Wikipedia and http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/5788
      describe Renga as a collaborative form.https://public-api.wordpress.com/rest/?notes_iframe

      Like

      • JulesPaige says:

        🙂 So then I have collaborated with myself. I read somewhere that teachers/masters of the form also used haiku alone 5,7,5 (most likely not counted as the traditional Japanese haiku has other rules for structure and form, the counting of syllables is mostly an American phenomenon which isn’t even taught any more) – to continue or collaborate pages of story over several months. I know a gal who writes uncounted five line verse without a line space and calls them tanka. And that I guess is why I say American Japanese Style – kind of like jumbo shrimp – an oxymoron. But then I have always been a rebel. Thanks for the links. It is always good to learn something new. I know that traditional haiku societies would most likely cringe if they read my offerings…but frankly Scarlett… I shall continue to have fun without their blessings.

        Like

  8. Love your snowy colors. I’m so glad you wrote about the colors in winter!

    Like

  9. nan says:

    “splendorises the garden” — nice! (I can see it in time-lapse, actually.)

    Like

  10. Colour me happy, too – love the vibrancy of the colours in this poem.

    Like

  11. Ooooh, Viv, I too love ‘cerulean’ ~ fabulous word ~ lovely poem ~ great rhythm

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

