Sicilian Quintain

 http://poeticbloomings.blogspot.com/ is a challenging prompt site run by Maria Elena and Walt of Poetic Asides fame.  This week they give us the form Sicilian Quintain,    Written in Iambic Pentameter with a rhyme sequence of a.b.a.b.a. This form has been used by many great poets and, like the Tanka, it is a valid and wonderful poetry form in it’s own write. (sic 🙂 )

 An example written by Walt
A WASTE OF HEART

I stand before the god’s of love again,
and hope my fate is better than it was.
For things are not the way that they had been;
my heart still breaks the way a good heart does.
To lay a heart to waste is such a sin.

provoked my reply:-
For sin against correct apostrophe
Walt must be made to pay a heavy fine.
The gods of poesy in antistrophe
rise up in anger dire against his crime.
Take care, young man, avoid catastrophe.

This form has legs; be sure I shall return,
iambs deployed within a kinder verse,
discourtesy dispelled, scorn overturned,
never to complain in tones perverse.
I promise I will make a sharp u-turn.

The final line is the hardest, and given a choice, I would write quatrains! I may be drummed out of the Brownies!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sicilian Quintain

  1. Mike Patrick says:

    One can only hope he appreciates your editor’s eye as much as I do.

    Like

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    So glad you pulled him up on it, Viv. A wandering apostrophe is a dreadful sin for a writer.

    Love this.

    Like

  3. Traci B says:

    Well done, Viv! I wanted to excise that errant apostrophe of Walt’s too; I like your poetic approach to the situation. 🙂

    And I agree; that fifth line is a real challenge. That’s why my quintain ended up with three verses – the fifth line didn’t allow me to finish a thought neatly and stop there.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

