Revolutionary Sonnet for Poetic Asides challenge

 

Revolutionary Sonnet 

I’d rather not regret the waste of time,
I must try hard to find new words that rhyme.
They tell me it’s a crime to dredge up words
from all my youthful reading. Two thirds of them
they call “archaic”.  So to work, to sweat,
to slog and not be slow to change my mind. 
They think that I should find a better way
to place the verb and subject, so I say
I will not shirk from my declared intention;
improve my writing, give it my attention;
modernise my nouns and verbs, avoid
the adjectives and adverbs I’ve enjoyed;
but pander to the whims of modern readers. 

Hell no.  I’m me, rebellious and contentious.
I won’t become a writer so pretentious.

You’ll find some beauties at http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/CommentView,guid,54439C23-165B-4DC3-903F-51A0E9360567.aspx#f66c7cc2-d246-4215-964d-190931b3ebd6

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems, sonnet. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Revolutionary Sonnet for Poetic Asides challenge

  1. Akila says:

    hmm quite a take on the prompt!! give and take verbs! nice rhythm…

    Like

  2. kaykuala says:

    Tinge of humor and wit takes a lot of thinking to come through. You’ve done it here and the rhymes are perfect. Wonderful write Viv!

    Hank

    Like

  3. Susan Chast says:

    Revolutionary rebel. Good, good.

    Like

  4. Loved reading this again.I suppose some of our writing may be considered archaic…does that mean we are? Not so.

    Like

  5. Ha.. of course we have to be rebellious and revoke arhaic adverbs… long live them, pray for resurrection.

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Really love the humor in this poem, Viv. But always good to take a look at our writing and find ways to make it even better.

    Like

  7. claudia says:

    ah smiles…you know..it’s good to stay a bit revolutionary and rebellious… not giving up our own style…

    Like

  8. brian miller says:

    ha, we you must know who you want to be first…
    because there are plenty that will bend over backward for the reader and sacrifice their own dreams….

    Like

  9. Tilly Bud says:

    I love what a feisty lady you are!

    Like

  10. RJ Clarken says:

    Defiant – that’s the way all writers should be! This was a terrific paean to the nonconformist in all of us!

    Like

  11. Yeah! Rebel…form is perfect. I love it. At our age we are free to do and be what we want.

    Like

  12. Fun, hip, and the beat is just perfect! Love it.

    Like

  13. Dick says:

    Form and content go together well to provide a neat piece of fierce defiance!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

