In Praise of Paper for Writers Island, Prompt 10.

Sorry folks, there’s been too much going on in my life this week to write on-prompt,
but here’s a little ode that I wrote as an exercise during Katherine Gallagher’s workshop this week.

In praise of paper

A stationer’s shop brings goose bumps
of desire, concupiscence, greed for the stuff.
I browse, I consider,
purse slim, not enough
for that gorgeous glossy photopaper
or those sheets of A1 Bockingford
gasping for watercolour scenes
to fill the bumpy pores.

 No, paper’s a necessity –
calendered ninety gram A4 –
the sight of it always prompts me to write more.
To be filled with words its destiny,
what use is it plain?
It’s for poems,
purple prose and pulp fiction.
My fingers are itching to write them again.

http://writersisland.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/prompt-10-for-2010-crossroads/

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In Praise of Paper for Writers Island, Prompt 10.

  1. totomai says:

    clever piece of writing. i think i have to write down something. haha its been ages since i write down one. using a pen of course.

    Like

  2. Viv, when people ask, “If you were given a thousand dollars and had to spend it on yourself, all in one store, which store would you choose?” I say,
    “An excellent stationery shop.” I love the detail with which you describe the perfect weight of your chosen palette. I recently found paper made of STONE (don’t ask me how), and it’s smoother than a baby’s bottom. Love at first touch… Thanks! Amy

    Like

  3. pieceofpie says:

    absolutely love where your going with this… i agree, it’s nice to go to that place where everything is of yours… written in fragments and pieces of thoughts torn out… go back and make something new…

    Like

  4. I on the other hand, am not the kind of person who likes to write on paper. I am constantly erasing, crossing out, arrows this way and that, so for me the computer is best. But I do understand that most folks don’t edit immediately and I have heard many people say that writing by hand inspires them. This is a very true poem, and I’m sure most agree!

    Like

    • Diane, I usually write first drafts by hand (mostly in bed) but when the pages become too much of a mess, I put them onto the computer. My choice of paper was for computer printing! Notebooks – I can’t pass a shelf of them without looking for a new one. They must be spiral bound.

      Like

  5. Mary says:

    Viv, I am another one who really loves paper and blank books, ready to be filled with words.

    http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2010/07/forks-in-road.html

    Like

  6. tillybud says:

    I love the idea that blank paper MUST be written on.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

    Like

  7. Stan Ski says:

    The back of an old fag packet works for me, but I’m sure better quality is produced on better quality paper.

    Like

  8. 1sojournal says:

    Viv,

    off prompt or not, I’m fairly certain, a lot of us can relate and even agree. This was fun.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. pamela says:

    Viv this is really nice
    Reminds me of how I feel when I walk in an art supply store!
    Pamela

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

