Sleep

 

The solace of sleeping
spirals out of control.
Life is dismissed, wasted.

Like Sally Bowles
I need to get out in the hall
and live every moment.

There are holes
in that logic, I pondered,
looking for  balance.

Moderation suits my style.

for Red Wolf Poems, We Wordle 25.  I used all but one of the words, which were:
hall holes solace sleeping spiral moment dismissed pondered looked suits veined

This poem is the result of having spent a great deal of yesterday alseep – a combination of medication takes all the stuffing out of me.

 

 

About http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, short poetry, wordles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sleep

  1. That bridge of balance is so hard to stay on…I agree with every word here. Nicely wordled, Viv.

  2. restlessjo says:

    Balancing the drug cocktail to keep you in decent shape, Viv? It’s ok to have ‘wiped out’ days now and again. Hugs! :)

  3. But Mum you had been too busy in the previous week – you splurged on fun now it is time to splurge on sleep :) Sally

  4. Yes, moderation as a whole with an occasional splurge : )

  5. mood wings says:

    Boy, is this a great message. Sleep can be a dangerous addiction just like any other drug. And it can accompany depression so often.

I love it when you leave a Reply

