The Pastoral Symphony

I came home from the Albert Hall
on clouds of music that delighted me,
the first time I’d heard a symphony.

Mum, I said, you have to hear this music.
But it’s so hackneyed, dear, she replied.
Not to me, I grumbled and sighed.

The ears of a child hear what’s really there
and rejoice in the ever-new.
I’m old now, and that is what I try to do.

 

A true story.  RedWolf Poems says: Much of the reward in speaking, reading and writing comes from breaking open a world never seen before in a new light.  Hold this thought and write about it.

About http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Pastoral Symphony

  1. restlessjo says:

    It’s a good way to live, Viv :)

    Like

  2. To hear with children’s ears…a gift indeed. You brought this scene and your characters to life, Viv. :)

    Like

  3. b_young says:

    Whatever lifts the heart. :)

    Like

  4. The best way to be. Too many people accept critical as a way of life and never see with child’s eyes. Very nice Viv

    Like

  5. Irene says:

    Yes, charming way of telling a story. Love the title.

    Like

  6. Ron. says:

    How wonderful for you, V! Next step: Rolling Stones!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

