Orange Wordle 174

 

I want to hold a candle to myself,
to the demimonde of poetry,
transgress the rules of the asylum,
rites of rhyme and rhythm scuppered,
banish the gray of the suicide poets -
I don’t want to be wombing and entrailing all over the place,
as Germaine Greer said of Anne Sexton -
their words spat out in impossible-to-live-with-nesss.
I will rejoice in the gaiety of the reggae poets,
rebel with the beat poets,
celebrate the grandeur of words reborn
with the colours of Africa
and the beat of Jamaica,
make words dance.

A splendid hour-long BBC4 programme last night, Great Poets in Their Own Words – was the inspiration for my wordle poem this week.  You can find other interpretations of the words here

About http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in ekphrastic poetry, free verse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Orange Wordle 174

  1. I’m glad you linked this for OLN–loved it the first read and it’s a great way to start a Monday!

  2. mood wings says:

    I’m an Anne fan, myself. But I’m your fan as well. :)

  3. brian miller says:

    I don’t want to be wombing and entrailing all over the place

    oh but i love a good mess on occassion…i do try to balance my suicides with my joy….smiles.

  4. The Sunday Whirl seems to have disappeared but thanks to its Facebook page I’ve found this weeks’ words. As a temporary measure I’ve put them up on my site along with a Mister Linky thingy-dingy should you wish to participate. It’s all at http://www.keithsramblings.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/once-upon-happier-time.html
    Spread the word brothers and sisters!

  5. I’ve taped that – now I have to go watch it! Love your poem.

  6. Pamela says:

    Viv, a lively write you have done here. I felt like I was dancing, which I do often. :)

    Pamela ox

  7. restlessjo says:

    Dazzling array of words :) You surely have got the hang of this, Viv.

  8. oldegg says:

    Even with poetry there is “a time for everything”, words that make us laugh and words that make us cry and some just to make us think.

  9. Your words dance in this, Viv!!

  10. Ha.. yes sometimes we want the wit and not the grit.. really a great writing .. I’m reading a book by Harold Bloom right now, and he can be quite funny when it comes to be disdainful about some poetry.

  11. What would we do without good old Radio Four!

  12. I’m with you, girlfriend. Great poem. Would have loved to have seen that BBC program. Need to look and see if it is set to re-broadcast.

  13. Bastet says:

    Oh … I loved this such a great poem and I’m with you all along the line … it’s so wonderful to read and dance with the poets and not cry over them.

  14. Misky says:

    Oh, this did make me laugh: “wombing and entailing all over the place”.

I love it when you leave a Reply

