Free Verse

 

What lifts a piece of prose,
transforms it into poetry?
Not using rhyme, there’s assonance,
to superimpose a soupçon of variety
instead of writing ‘rose.’

Consonance -
compatibility of consonants
can make a pleasant sound.
Alliterate a little, not too much -
just joking –  adds to the fun.
More than three deserve reproach.

Figures of speech like similes,
and plays on words raise smiles,
a metaphor or two for interest -
too many merely confuse.

The ultimate poetic ingredient
is the music that you feel
from the way the words are ordered,
to dance upon your ear.

 

Napowrimo day 29
I haven’t looked at the prompts today – my mind had a mind of its own for this penultimate post.  It made this poem to answer questions some have asked.

About http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Free Verse

  1. Could be used for teaching poetry, Viv :)

    Like

  2. Love that musical feeling that happens–even with free verse. And isn’t it wonderful how sometimes things like assonance etc. happen almost unconsciously!?

    Like

  3. colonialist says:

    I love the alliteration of alliterate a little, and the smiling similes. This is a great example of manipulating words into interesting forms and combinations without using rhyme – but I still feel (as I would, of course) that there is a place for that as well..

    Like

  4. So wonderful when the muse takes off on its own!! Lovely way to answer questions and I just love what happens in the last stanza…the way I read it, that the words are ordered or directed to dance upon your ear…love that!

    Like

  5. julespaige says:

    I like it. I might just have to go and look up all the words – well I do know a good many of them. But when I was taught English (writing wise) there was and emphasis on creativity. So I always go with what my heart hears. Which may not always be correct.

    Ends can be beginnings. Just writing everyday for yourself is always a good thing too.
    It has been a pleasure receiving visits and visiting your post. Just because April is ending does not mean that will stop.

    As for tantrums… it is a little tricky to hold the grandson up to the mirror when I’m trying to feed his 9 month old sister – But I managed. Thanks. I sometimes ask him if he would like me to join him, or if he would be so kind as to see if the neighbors can hear him. I even attempt to reason; asking if he is actually getting what he wants… I think though most of the time now he does know that tantrums don’t work at Grama’s house. But when Daddy has to drop him off and the little guy is still half asleep and disoriented – I do try and cut him some slack.

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    Really nice, Viv.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

